We British.com
Being British

British Monarchs: Edward VII (Saxe-Coburg-Gotha) 1901-1910

Edward VII

House: Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
Reign: 1901-1910

Edward VII (Albert Edward; 9 November 1841 6 May 1910) was King of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, King of the Commonwealth Realms, and the Emperor of India. He was the son of Queen Victoria and was the first British monarch of the House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha. He reigned from 22 January 1901 until his death on 6 May 1910.

Before his accession to the throne, Edward held the title of Prince
of Wales, and has the distinction of having been heir apparent to the throne longer than anyone in English or British history. Edward's reign, now called the Edwardian period, saw the first official recognition of the office of the Prime Minister. He became the first British monarch to visit Russia (1908). Edward also played a role in the modernization of the British Home Fleet and the reform of the Army Medical Services, after the Second Boer War.

<<< Back