We British.com
Being British
802-839: Egbert 855-860: Aethelbald 860-866: Aethelbert 866-871: Aethelred 871-899: Alfred the Great 899-925: Edward the Elder 925-940: Athelstan 940-946: Edmund the Magnificent 946-955: Eadred 955-959: Eadwig (Edwy) All-Fair 959-975: Edgar the Peaceable 975-978: Edward the Martyr 979-1013: Æthelred II (Ethelred the Unready) 1014-1014: Svein Forkbeard 1014-1016: Æthelred II (Ethelred the Unready) 1016-1035: Cnut (Canute) 1035-1040: Harold I 1040-1042: Hardicanute 1042-1066: Edward (the Confessor) 1066: Harold II 1066-1087: William I 1087-1100: William II 1100-1135: Henry I 1135-1154: Stephen 1141: Empress Matilda (Queen Maud) 1154-1189: Henry II 1189-1199: Richard I 1199-1216: John 1216-1272: Henry III 1272-1307: Edward I 1307-1327: Edward II 1327-1377: Edward III 1377-1399: Richard II 1399-1413: Henry IV 1413-1422: Henry V 1422-1461: Henry VI 1461-1483: Edward IV 1483: Edward V 1483-1485: Richard III 1485-1509: Henry VII 1509-1547: Henry VIII 1547-1553: Edward VI 1553: Jane Grey 1553-1558: Mary I 1558-1603: Elizabeth I 1603-1625: James I 1625-1649: Charles I 1649-1658: Oliver Cromwell 1658-1659: Richard Cromwell 1660-1685: Charles II 1685-1688: James II 1689-1702: William III 1689-1694: Mary II 1702-1714: Anne 1714-1727: George I 1727-1760: George II 1760-1820: George III 1820-1830: George IV 1830-1837: William IV 1837-1901: Victoria 1901-1910: Edward VII 1910-1936: George V 1936-1936: Edward VIII 1936-1952: George VI 1952 - present: Elizabeth II
 1000 A.D1500 A.D2000 A.D
Hold your mouse over the time line above and click when an interesting date/monarch is displayed below
Year: Monarch:

EgbertHouse of Wessex802-839
AethelbaldHouse of Wessex855-860
AethelbertHouse of Wessex860-866
AethelredHouse of Wessex866-871
Alfred the GreatHouse of Wessex871-899
Edward the ElderHouse of Wessex899-925
AthelstanHouse of Wessex925-940
Edmund the MagnificentHouse of Wessex940-946
EadredHouse of Wessex946-955
Eadwig (Edwy) All-FairHouse of Wessex955-959
Edgar the PeaceableHouse of Wessex959-975
Edward the MartyrHouse of Wessex975-978
Æthelred II (Ethelred the Unready)House of Wessex979-1013
Svein ForkbeardDanish1014-1014
Æthelred II (Ethelred the Unready)House of Wessex1014-1016
Cnut (Canute)Danish1016-1035
Harold IDanish1035-1040
Edward (the Confessor)Saxons1042-1066
Harold IISaxons1066
William INormans1066-1087
William IINormans1087-1100
Henry INormans1100-1135
Empress Matilda (Queen Maud)Normans1141
Henry IIPlantagenets1154-1189
Richard IPlantagenets1189-1199
Henry IIIPlantagenets1216-1272
Edward IPlantagenets1272-1307
Edward IIPlantagenets1307-1327
Edward IIIPlantagenets1327-1377
Richard IIPlantagenets1377-1399
Henry IVHouse of Lancaster1399-1413
Henry VHouse of Lancaster1413-1422
Henry VIHouse of Lancaster1422-1461
Edward IVHouse of York1461-1483
Edward VHouse of York1483
Richard IIIHouse of York1483-1485
Henry VIITudors1485-1509
Henry VIIITudors1509-1547
Edward VITudors1547-1553
Jane GreyTudors1553
Mary ITudors1553-1558
Elizabeth ITudors1558-1603
James IStuarts1603-1625
Charles IStuarts1625-1649
Oliver CromwellCommonwealth1649-1658
Richard CromwellCommonwealth1658-1659
Charles IIStuarts (Restored)1660-1685
James IIStuarts (Restored)1685-1688
William IIIStuarts (Restored)1689-1702
Mary IIStuarts (Restored)1689-1694
AnneStuarts (Restored)1702-1714
George IHouse of Hanover1714-1727
George IIHouse of Hanover1727-1760
George IIIHouse of Hanover1760-1820
George IVHouse of Hanover1820-1830
William IVHouse of Hanover1830-1837
VictoriaHouse of Hanover1837-1901
Edward VIISaxe-Coburg-Gotha1901-1910
George VWindsor1910-1936
Edward VIIIWindsor1936-1936
George VIWindsor1936-1952
Elizabeth IIWindsor1952 - present